INQUA Funding, Grants & Awards

Funding Structure Announcement

In response to feedback from members, INQUA has developed a new funding framework for Commission activities which replaces the previous system which was arranged around International Focus Groups (IFGs) and Projects. 

There are three new categories of INQUA Commission support:

  1. Funding for single year or multi-year projects
  2. Funding to support a stand-alone conference or meeting
  3. Funding for skills enhancement

For the coming year, 2022, we have also added additional allowable funding types in response to the changing academic landscape caused by Covid-19

In addition, there is still the option to apply for INQUA endorsement (or to become an INQUA Working Group) with the right to use the INQUA logo and name when applying for funding and organising conferences. This endorsement does not involve financial support from INQUA.

All in-progress funded IFGs/projects will immediately be moved to this new system and we expect existing IFGs and some projects to become ‘multi-year projects’. Existing funded IFGs and projects need to apply for continuation of funding in the upcoming year towards the end of each year using a new application form.

We welcome enquiries from potential projects at any time, the deadline for initial applications to these categories is the 1st December

Applicants who have missed this deadline should contact the Commission officers for more information. 

After January 31st of the following year, no further proposals will be considered by the Executive Committee.

Detailed explanation of the different funding categories and the application form are available on the relevant funding pages.

Deadline for Project Reports:
For projects that are currently funded that have conducted activities within the previous year the deadline for the project report is the 31st January 

INQUA Working Group Status

An INQUA affiliated Working Group is a long-term association addressing specific broad-scale scientific issues. INQUA Working Groups have the right to use the INQUA logo and name when applying for funding and organising conferences. The recognition as an INQUA Working Group is formally approved for the entire intra-congress period (usually 4 years) at the INQUA Congress by the INQUA International Council.

Those seeking Working Group status will need to complete an application form as for the other categories of funding and submit this to the INQUA Executive Committee for consideration and approval to be ratified by the INQUA International Council. Recognition must be renewed after every intra-congress period. Applications can be submitted during the intra-congress period for provisional approval by the INQUA Executive Committee until ratification at the next INQUA Congress. 

The Working Groups are requested to report at the meeting of the International Council about their activities during the intra-congress period. During the intra-congress period, Commission Presidents, will ask the INQUA Working Groups to hand in a short annual report. The INQUA Working Groups are also encouraged to report, on a regular base, about their activities and results in INQUA’s newsletter Quaternary Perspective.

INQUA Awards

INQUA presents awards to scientists who distinguish themselves through contributions to Quaternary science and to INQUA. These awards include the Sir Nicholas Shackleton Medal for Outstanding Young Quaternary Scientists, the Liu Tungsheng Distinguished Career Medal for Distinguished Service to the International Community in Quaternary Science and the INQUA Distinguished Service Medal. In formation about these awards, past recipients, and how to nominate candidates for future awards can be found here.